Volume 7: One Small Step for Women

tirepanted3

Volume 7: One Small Step for Women

Post by tirepanted3 »

Hello, everyone. Welcome to the seventh and final volume of the Spacesuit saga. This may not be my final USB story, but it will quite likely be my final big USB "novel." Writing these long stories can be rewarding, but also exhausting, not to mention time-consuming. (As evidenced by my difficulty in posting these chapters in a timely manner.) Furthermore, as much as I adore writing these characters and developing their universe, I don't want their stories to run on too long and risk growing stale. I've been writing this saga for several years now, and it's been great fun. Hopefully this volume brings the story to a satisfying and entertaining conclusion.

It was a dark night, perhaps a bit darker than usual. A few stars dotted an otherwise cloudy sky.

The museum had closed hours ago - but for some employees, the work was just beginning.

Francie leaned back in her chair as she watched the small television on her desk. Her security booth, stationed at the main entrance to the museum parking lot, was small, but it allowed for some accommodations.

"Lucy, I'm ho-ome!"

Francie chuckled. It was another quiet night for the museum security guard, and she was ready to spend the next few hours catching up on some classic TV sitcoms.

"How's it going?"

Francie looked up. Standing outside the booth window was Clara, her friend and coworker. Like Francie, she wore a standard-issue security uniform of grey button-down shirt, black pants, and black leather shoes. The light-skinned Francie had her red hair tied back into a close bun, while the dark-skinned Clara had fashioned her own black hair into a ponytail.

Francie smiled. "Hey, Clara. Want to join me in a TV marathon?"

"Love to, but I gotta stay on patrol," Clara replied. "Got another few hours on my shift; just stopped by to see how you're doing."